What is Blocked Seating?
Blocked Seating allows users to block alternate, specific or all seats of a table or seating row. This can be used for social distanced seating or other purposes, such as restricted sight lines or if a seat is in the path of service or TV cameras.
Please note: Blocked Seating can be set up on the web account as well as the iOS zkipster app on iPads.
When Blocked Seating is activated, any guests originally on a now-blocked seat will be unseated on the floorplan.
How to Set up Blocked Seating
Blocked Seating on the Browser
In the web account, go into the Table Settings of the respective table you want to block seats on.
Switch the 'Block Seats' toggle from OFF to ON, as shown below:
Once Blocked Seating is turned on, you have different blocking options:
- Alternate (default) - Every other seat of this seating row or table will be blocked
- All - All seats of this seating row or table will be blocked (for example, to account for an empty row of seats or table that is not being assigned to any guests)
- Specific Seats - Choose which particular seat(s) to block on this seating row or table
Blocked Seating on the iOS app on iPads
- Tap on the 'Seating" tab at the bottom of your screen
- Toggle on 'Edit Floorplan' and tap on the respective seating row/ table you want to block seats on
- Tap on 'Blocked Seats' in the Table Settings
Once you are inside the 'Blocked Seats' screen, choose whether you want to block All, Alternative or Specific Seats as described above:
Please note: Once turned on, Blocked Seating is applied to all Seating functions including the Share a Table feature, which can be used by external collaborators to register and seats guests.